It’s OK to be basic.

Being basic has a bad rap. But when it comes to food, it’s sometimes the way to go. It puts all the indulgent food into perspective. Indulgent grub is a treat, and basic food is necessary to replenish the energy and vitamins  your body uses.

When I say basic, I mean it in terms of the groceries I buy and the day-to-day meals I prepare. As internet savvy, hungry millennials –  we’re tricked into thinking that “Tasty” type meals are just as easy as those one-minute videos beautifully edited together.

It could be that easy, but if you’re like me, you only have one shot at trying with a limited grocery budget. Any mess up, or faults in a recipe can leave you with an overcooked, burnt, or curdled meal.

It has taken a year to build up the basics in my pantry, picking up different spices on every other shopping trip.

If you’re starting fresh – as someone who’s trying to make it on their own or are interested in the ABC’s of cooking and fending for yourself, here is my go-to list that no one could argue with.

kitchenbasics

Although these are basics that you should focus on collecting in your kitchen. It’s not a complete list, especially since many of the basic comfort foods I make are Asian inspired.

For me, I associate a variety of Asian dishes as warm, comforting, spicy, earthy, with flavours reminiscent of my childhood.

asian-essencials

If you’re looking at this list unsure of what these ingredients are – you’re probably not alone.

I’ll be cooking some of my favorite meals using these ingredients over the course of my blogging adventure.

Save

One thought on “It’s OK to be basic.

Leave a Reply

