Midnight Diner

Since school started, I’ve had very little passion to cook up the grub I actually love. This lack of passion rose from my overwhelming stress of school, and focusing on projects that required more of myself then I thought.

But over the holiday, a combination of relaxation, watching (self) inspiring Netflix shows, and mostly my excitement and anticipation about my upcoming trip to Hong Kong and Tokyo has inspired me to refresh my blog.

Although I don’t want to get your hopes up because ideas change, grow and form into something else, my hopes for the blog for the rest of this year is to bring together things that I will stay excited about.

Netflix began showing a Japanese T.V. series, Midnight Diner or Shinya Shokudō.

 

The series was originally released in 2006 as a late-night manga series by Yarō Abe Abe and was adapted into a live-action drama in 2009 and 2011. In 2015 director Joji Matsuoka made the TV show into a live action film.

The show’s main theme centred on a classic Japanese diner, think udon (noodle soup) and katsu (crispy pork cutlets) and not the western fries and club sandwiches.

The diner is open from midnight to dawn, 7 a.m., and each episode focuses on patrons who visits the diner, their story and a particular dish that seems to cause or resolve the problem throughout the 25-minute episode.

In the next few weeks, I’ll be recreating dishes from Midnight Diner and listing a few more movies and shows that make me crave good food and adventures to be.

4 thoughts on “Midnight Diner

  1. Nooo, they have it on Netflix now? Awesome. Love your blog, BTW. Im also planning on recreating the dish per episode but haven’t got the time, so I wanna see how you do it 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

